A Bit on Toxic Household Products

Image

Everything you put on your skin is absorbed into your bloodstream. I used to think nothing of this but have researched products and chemicals leading to a slow process of detoxifying my home. I thought of a great example that put this in an even better perspective and more urgency on getting rid of harmful chemicals in my home. My dog was infested with fleas and we had to resort to using Frontline.

When you put frontline on a pet, what happens is the skin absorbs the drug into the blood stream and distributes it throughout the body from that one tiny spot you apply it to.

Our skin is no different

Every product you put on your skin is absorbed into your bloodstream. Typical bodycare products like lotion, deodorant, and shampoo are loaded with chemicals. If it has something you can’t pronounce, chances are it is foreign to your body too. I have been using these toxic products for years, and don’t plan on changing over night. But every week (or when I run out of a product) I try to find a natural and cheap replacement.

You should too!

So follow me as I find the best replacements out there. I have been on a search for a shampoo alternative that works for me so share if you have anything that you use. I have tried the no poo method (baking soda and vinegar) but my hair gets dandruff easily and did with using that method.

I will post my natural dishwasher detergent that works like a charm so stay in touch!

5 thoughts on “A Bit on Toxic Household Products

    • You can try using apple cider vinegar. 1 tbsp to 1 cup of water. The vinegar smell goes away once you towel dry your hair. It worked for me, but I have issues with dandruff so I am on the hunt for a natural shampoo.

Leave a Reply

